Kojirakawa Library Guide
( for the users inside the university )
| Access for the library | Address & Phones, Library hours, Closed, YU libraries |
| How to use the library | How to use, Circulation, Loan Limits & Periods, Service hours |
| Materials & Utilities | Classification system, Location of the materials, Floor plan |
| Services | Search tools, Reference service, Inter-library service (Copy, Loan, Visits), Book Purchase Request, Library Guidance |
| Other | Suggestion Box, Notices |
Address & Phones
Yamagata University Kojirakawa Library
1-4-12, Kojirakawa-machi,
Yamagata-shi, Yamagata, 990-8560
Japan
Service desk ( Phone: 023-628-4912, Fax: 023-628-4915 )
Library hours
| Day | Semester | During vacation * |
|---|---|---|
| Monday to Friday | 8:45 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. | 8:45 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. |
| Saturday, Sunday & National holidays | 11:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. | Closed |
* During vacation (except for the department of medicine)
Spring vacation (Feb 20 to Apr 5), Summer vacation (Aug 1 to
Sep 30), Winter vacation(Dec 25 to Jan 10)
Anniversary of the founding of Yamagata University (Oct 15)
Closed
- During vacations*, the library is closed on Sunday, Saturday, and National holidays.
- The year-end and New Year holiday, too.
- Any changes in the opening or service hours will be posted.
How to use
- Users
- All students, faculty members, and staff at this university.
- Other people who live or work or study in Yamagata.
- Library card
- To use the library, a library card is required.
- If you are student at this university, your sutdent ID card is your library card.
- When you need a library card, please come to the service desk.
- Reading
- Open stack collections : Open stack materials may be used freely.
After use, please put the book back in the same place where you found them. - Closed stack collections : Closed stacks cannot be entered by general users.
To request books or journals on closed stacks, please obtain the call number from the catalogs, and present it to the service desk.
Faculty members and graduate students are able to enter the closed stacks. Please apply to the service desk.Faculty students of the third grader or more can enter the closed stacks after guidance. Please apply to the service desk.
- Open stack collections :
- Book detection system
- The gate have book detection system (BDS).
- When warning becomes, please follow to the indication of the staff.
Circulation
- Checkout
- The library card is necessary in checkout.
- If you want to check out the book, please come to the service desk with the book and your library card.
- Renewal
- If no one else has requested the book you borrowed, you may renew that for one more loan period.
- If you want to renew the book, please come to the circulation desk with the book and your library card.
- Reservations
- You may reserve the book borrowed by other user.
- If you want to reserve the book, please come to the service desk.
- Return
- Please return the borrowed books to the service desk.
- When the library is closed, please return books to the book post.
- Please observe the due date.
- Overdue
- If you have an overdue book, you cannot borrow and reserve any books as penalty.
- This penalty continue until the day after the same period as number of overdue days from returning the book.
- In case of overdue, please return the book promptly.
- Borrow circumstance inquiry
- You may check the books you borrowed by "My Library".
- The password is necessary for this service.
- If you want to use this service, please come to the service desk.
Loan Limits & Period
| Loan Limits | Loan Period | Renewal | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Faculty members | Open stack collections | 20 vols | 3 weeks | Once |
| Closed stack collections | 50 vols | 1 year | - | |
|
Students ( Graduate / Special training course / Senior ) |
30 vols | 4 weeks | Once | |
| Students ( except the above ) & Staff | 20 vols | 3 weeks | Once | |
Classification system
- In this library, the books are sorted by subject according to NDC(Nippon Decimal Classification).
| Summary of the Nippon Decimal Classification Table : 8th ed. | |||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| number | 0 | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |
| Subject |
General Works |
Philosophy | History |
Social Sciences |
Naturarl Sciences |
| number | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |
| Subject |
Technology. Engineering |
Industry and Commerce |
The Art. Fine Art |
Language | Literature |
Location of the materials
| Materials | Floor & Location | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Current books | 1st floor | In front of service desk | |
| Current issues | BE-plaza(Browsing booth) | ||
| Today's newspapers | |||
|
Paperback International information corner |
|||
| Audio-visual materials (video/LD/DVD) | AV-plaza(Video booth) | ||
| Reference books | Maps, Catalogs, Abstracts, Indexes, etc | South side | |
| Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Year books, etc | |||
| White Papers, from 1989 | |||
| Newspapers. reduced size ed. | 2nd floor | South side | |
| Books | NDC, from 0 to 1 | ||
| NDC, from 2 to 3 | West side | ||
| NDC, from 4 to 9 | 3rd floor | West side | |
| Japanese periodicals | Having titles from A to L | 4th floor | |
| Having titles from M to Z | 5th floor | ||
| Closed books | Closed stock | ||
| Foreign books / journals | |||
| Periodicals published by the University | |||
| Microfilms,Microfiches | If you want to use those materials, please inquire at the service desk. | ||
|
Antiquarian books and documents (The Nakajoke collection, The Ounikki etc.) |
|||
|
Special collections (The Takahashi collection, The Sakuma collection etc.) |
|||
- There is a part of material in the closed stacks collections and the laboratories. If you want to use those materials, please inquire at the service desk.
Floor plan
Facilities
| Floor | Name | Description |
|---|---|---|
| 1st | Bulletin board (entrance) | Information. (Event, Overdue book, About purchase request, Answer for Suggestion etc.) |
| Service desk |
Circulation and Receive applications (Audio-visual, Private room
and so on.) and various questions about use of the Library. Reference service, Receive applications about inter-library loan, and various questions about use of computer. |
|
| PC plaza, AV plaza(Video booth) |
There are personal computer, video and DVD. Headphone for video
or DVD, please inquire at the service desk. [ How to use the Information plaza ] (Japanese) |
|
| BE plaza(Browsing booth) |
There are newly arrived magazines, and newspaper of that day. |
|
| International information corner | This is the corner for foreign students and overseas education. | |
| Theatre room | Projection machinery is kept in this room, and the screening party (Yamagata international documentary film festival et al.) is performed. | |
| 2nd | Seminar room | There are 3 seminar rooms on 2nd floor. All students and faculties may use the rooms. If you want to use that, please come to the service desk with your library card. |
|
Private room for professors emeritus (Seminar room No.4) |
Use of room is the same as above, except when there will be a reservation by the day before. | |
| 3rd |
Seminar room (for using new media) |
There are 4 seminar rooms for using new media materials on 3rd floor. All students and faculties may use the rooms. If you want to use that, please come to the service desk with your library card. |
| Yamagata University Museum |
There is a natural and humanity museum. It has many old documents
and rare materials. Please drop in freely. Museum's Web page here (Japanese) |
Machines
| Floor | Name | Description |
|---|---|---|
| 1st to 4th | OPAC/catalog terminals | This is the book searchable machine. The OPAC terminals are available on each floor except 5th floor. |
| 1st and 3rd | Wireless LAN access point | You can access the internet by your laptop computer. Please ask NCSC(Network and Computing Service Center) about how to use. |
| 1st | Self-service copy machine |
There are 1 copy machine on 1st floor. If you want to make photocopies
of the material of this library, please inquire at the service
desk, and make it yourself by this machine. Photocopying is limited by the copyright law. Please surely obey that. |
| Microform reader | This is the machine for reading and printing microforms and microfiches. If you want to use that, please inquire at the service desk. | |
| 'Kiku-zoh II' terminal : News paper database from Asahi shimbun | This is the terminal for using 'Kiku-zoh' database. 'Kiku-zoh' is a news paper database from Asahi shimbun. The machine is able to search and read and print news stories published from 1984 to today. If you want to use this print service, please inquire at the service desk. | |
| CD-ROM terminal |
This is the terminal for using CD-ROM materials. That is next to the service desk. How to use CD-ROM terminal (Japanese) |
Exhibit
| Floor | Name | Description |
|---|---|---|
| 1st | Rare books exhibition | This is exhibiting 'Nakajo-ke' collection and more rare books on the library. |
| each floor | Open gallery |
The library is exhibiting the art works created by students.
This exhibition is in association with the Faculty of Education,
Art and Science. Open gallery's page (Japanese) |
Search tools
The library equip the below book search tools.
- OPAC : Online catalog
- By using OPAC, You can search easily books and journals on the library.
- The OPAC can be used from the OPAC terminal and the informaition plaza and other internet accessable computers.
- English version OPAC is here.
- Mobile OPAC
- Mobile OPAC is OPAC service for cell-phones.
- It is used from mobile internet browsing sercive such as i-mode.
- Please use from here (Japanese).
- Online database
- Some online databases for searching for documents are available on the library.
- The database for japanese documents is 'Genii'.
- And The database for foreign documents is 'Web of Science'.
- And other more databases are available. ex. 'MathSciNet'.
- Online journal
- Over 5,000 online journal titles are available in Yamagata University.
- Please use them at the PC plaza.
- Available titles is searchable. Please use from the link below.
My Library
- "My Library" is personal portal service.
- This service can use by Yamagata University inner staffs or students.
- Please utilize as a partner of research and study.
Reference service
- If you have question, please inquire at the service desk.
Question example:
- Tell me how to use computers in the library.
- Where are this book in the library ?
- The book which I search for is not found. In what library is the book ?
- What book about this theme are there ?
- and etc.
Inter-library copy service
Copy service (Other library's materials)
- If you want to use other library's book or journal, you may request the inter-library copy service.
- When you request this service, please fill in the application form and make a request at the reference desk.
- The cost for the service is 35 yen to 60 yen per page and postage.
- It takes about one or two weeks for you to receive photocopies.
- Before request, please check the OPAC to see if the Library owns that.
Inter-library loan service
Loan service (Other library's materials)
- If you want to use other library's book, you may request the inter-library loan service.
- When you request the service, please fill in the application form and make a request at the service desk.
- The cost for the service is fee and postage.
- It takes about one or two weeks for you to receive the book.
- Before request, please check the OPAC to see if the Library owns that.
Book delivery (YU library's materials)
- If you want to use our other library's book, you may order the book to the libraries.
- When you request the service, please fill in the application form and make a request at the reference desk.
- The cost for the service is charge-free.
- It takes a few days for you to receive the book.
Personal visits
Personal visits (Other library use)
- If you want to use other university library, please inquire at the service desk.
Service hours
| Services | Monday to Friday |
Saturday,Sunday, National holidays |
|
|---|---|---|---|
| Semester | During vacation | Semester | |
| Reading room use |
8:45 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. |
8:45 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. |
11:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. |
| Circulation |
8:45 a.m. to 8:45 p.m. |
8:45 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. |
11:00 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. |
| Copying yourself |
8:45 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. |
8:45 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. |
11:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. |
| Closed stacks |
8:45 a.m. to 0:15 p.m. 1:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. |
8:45 a.m. to 0:15 p.m. 1:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. |
11:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. |
|
PC plaza, AV Plaza |
8:45 a.m. to 8:50 p.m. | 8:45 a.m. to 4:50 p.m. | 11:00 a.m. to 5:50 p.m. |
| Reference service | 8:45 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. |
Closed (Reference desk only) |
|
| Accept for Inter-library loan Service | |||
| Receive applications about Inter-library loan | |||
Book Purchase Request
- Students at this University are able to request the books which are not possessed in the library.
- If you want to request, please fill in the application form and put it into the request box on the 1st floor stairs side.
- After examining the contents and the like of the book, we
are going to purchase. However on this service, we cannot purchase the book of below type.
- Serial publications (journals and magazines), reference books, exam prep books.
- Too cheap or too expensive books.
- Informations of this service are informed by the bulletin board.
Suggestion box
- If you have the opinion or desire to the library, please write it in the paper, and put it into the suggestion box of the library entrance.
Library Guidance
- The library is giving various library guidance:
ex. Library tour for new students. How to search articles by the online databases. - The guidance schedule is informed by the bulletin board and the library web site. Please come in the guidance.
Notices
- Please keep the rules and follow an instruction of the staff. In case of a person who breaks the rules will be refused to use the library.
- Please do not write and break to the library materials.
- In the library, please be quiet and do not bother other users.
Prohibited matter in the library:
- Food and drink.(Excluding specified drinks)
- Chat on a cell-phone.
- If you do not understand how to use the library, please ask to the staff freely.
YU libraries
Medical Library
Address:2-2-2 Iida-Nishi, Yamagata-shi, Yamagata, 990-9585 Japan
Phone: 023-628-5054 / Fax: 023-628-5059
Engineering Library
Address:4-3-16 Jonan, Yonezawa-shi, Yamagata, 992-8510 Japan
Phone: 0238-26-3019 / Fax: 0238-26-3408
Agricultural Library
Address:1-23 Wakaba-machi,Tsuruoka-shi, Yamagata, 997-8555 Japan
Phone: 0235-28-2810 / Fax 0235-28-2815
(c) Yamagata University Library 1996-2010
ご意見,ご質問は小白川図書館広報委員会まで jkahosa@jm.kj.yamagata-u.ac.jp
山形大学小白川図書館

